Top 10: Favourite Bands That Nobody Knows

This is my first top ten list on this blog. Doing top tens was one of the things I mentioned a month ago when I first brought up doing editorials. So in this first top ten list I’m going to talk about my top ten favourite bands that seem to be rather obscure. Now they’re not all indie bands, some are just older bands that were prevalent in their time, but have since moved into obscurity, and some are bands that barely anybody seems to know exist despite actually being part of a record company.

Before we get to the list, just some honourable mentions:

The Weakerthans

Versus the World

The Tiny

Two Gallants

The Guess Who (like I said, older bands that have become obscure)

And now onto the actual list:

10. Bright Eyes

Bright Eyes is an amazing band. They definitely classify as being “indie”. For quite a long time the only song I knew by them was “The Calendar Hung Itself”, but then I decided to listen to more of their stuff and songs like “Haligh, Haligh, A Lie, Haligh”, “It’s Cool, We Can Still Be Friends”, “From a Balance Beam” and “At The Bottom Of Everything” have made me love this band. I definitely recommend giving them a listen.

9. Suburban Legends

As far as SKA bands go, this is probably one of the best I’ve ever listened to and one of the most obscure. I only found out about them because I thought that “Suburban Legends” is an awesome twist on the normal “Urban Legends” saying. But I’m so glad I found them because then I got to listen to a SKA cover of “I Just Can’t Wait To Be King” and “Under The Sea” and I knew that I found an awesome band. If you’re into SKA, definitely check these guys out.

8. The Irresponsibles

I discovered this band after watching The Spoony Experiment. (Spoony is an online video game and movie reviewer portrayed by Noah Antwiler.) He uses the song “Break Me” by The Irresponsibles as his opening theme song and so I decided to check them out. I’m glad I did because they have even more awesome songs.

7. The Pretty Reckless

The lead singer is the girl who played Cindy Lou Who in the live-action “How The Grinch Stole Christmas”. Need I say more? Well, I guess so. She’s very hot and an awesome singer. The songs kick ass and not enough people are listening to them. So go listen to them.

6. Fake Problems

This band is so good. I don’t remember how I found out about them, but man, their songs are amazing. “Born and Raised”, “Diamond Rings”, “Heart BPM”, “My First Million”, “Done With Fun” and tons of other songs by them are so good. If you’re into indie bands that actually have that indie rock feel to them, then you’ll love this band. The band Two Gallants (that I mentioned in the honourable mentions) has a similar sound to Fake Problems. So chances are, if you like one of them, you’ll like the other, too.

5. Jonathan Coulton

He’s probably best known for writing the songs “Still Alive” and “Want You Gone” for Portal and Portal 2. But did you know that he has other songs that are also really good? “The Future Soon”, “RE: Your Brains”, “Skullcrusher Mountain”, “Code Monkey”, “Creepy Doll”, “Shop Vac”, “Ikea”…the list goes on and on. Seriously, if all you know of Jonathan Coulton is the Portal themes (or if you don’t even know the Portal themes), you owe it to yourself to listen to this man sing hilariously awesome songs.

4. David Choi

Famous because of YouTube is not the same as actually being famous. In most cases. As such, the case for David Choi. He’s a very talented singer/songwriter/musician who doesn’t get nearly enough love. Seriously, go check out David Choi. I love his music so much that I actually had pre-ordered his third album to get it autographed. Just go listen to him.

3. Voltaire

One of the best artists ever and no one even knows who he is. At least, none of my friends know who he is. Okay, barely any of my friends. Like, one or two know who he is. It’s really sad actually because he’s a genius. His songs are dark and weird but hilarious nonetheless. “Zombie Prostitute”. I mean, come on, if that doesn’t pique your interest, I don’t know what will. Also, every song on his album “Riding a Black Unicorn Down The Side of an Erupting Volcano While Drinking From a Chalice Filled With The Laughter of Small Children” is amazing. And while you’re at it, listen to his album “Hate Lives In A Small Town” and definitely do yourself a favour by listening to his song “When You’re Evil”. That’s the first song I listened to from him and it led me to listening to even more amazing songs from him.

2. Journey

Now I know what you’re thinking: “Hey wait a minute, I’ve heard of Journey, they did that ‘Don’t Stop Believing’ song, right?” Well, yes, yes they did. But did you know that they also did OTHER, BETTER songs than that? I bet you didn’t. That’s why I feel like I can put this band on this list…also, because it’s my list and if you don’t like it then you can leave. But please don’t leave. Journey is a very talented band who got the “one-hit wonder” stamp put on them when that became their only song that people heard. But if you give them a chance and listen to songs like “Wheel In The Sky” or “Ask the Lonely” or “Open Arms” or “Faithfully”, you’ll see that Journey is actually an amazing band that deserves to be more than a simple one-hit wonder.

1. Electric Light Orchestra (ELO)

ELO is a band that was prevalent in the 70s but has since moved into obscurity or, at best, a one-hit wonder band (like Journey) with their song “Mr. Blue Sky”. You’ve probably heard that song played in numerous movies, which is nice that at least ELO is still getting some air-time. But why always that song? Why not change it up and listen to “Confusion” or “Turn to Stone” or “Evil Woman” or “Last Train to London” or “Strange Magic”? ELO is one of my favourite bands of the 70s, one of my favourite bands of all-time and my top pick for favourite band who no one seems to know anymore.

So that’s my list. I hope you enjoyed. The next list will be of my favourite bands that everyone has (or at least should have) heard of.

Want to help me out? Please like, comment on and/or share this post. It would really mean a lot to me. Also, if you like my posts, please subscribe to this blog and then you’ll be notified when I post something new.

One thought on “Top 10: Favourite Bands That Nobody Knows

Leave a Comment

