Post-Halloween Blues

So Halloween has come and gone again. We have to wait a whole ‘nother year to buy big boxes of candies and pretend that it’s for kids when it’s really for us. Oh well, if it happened all the time it wouldn’t be such a special day, now would it?

Though it’s kind of sad that Halloween doesn’t seem to be as big a deal anymore. I remember when I was a kid, I loved dressing up and going trick-or-treating. We also used to get a couple hundred kids coming to our house to get candy. Nowadays we’re lucky if 50 kids show up. It’s just gone really downhill which is pretty sad.

I always envisioned going trick-or-treating with my kids someday, but it seems like Halloween won’t even exist by the time I have kids. While there’s no shortage of decorations or costumes there is a shortage of people who care. And that’s just sad.

But moving on to other Halloween-y type stuff. Tonight I’m going to be going on a ghost hunt. Now I know that sounds crazy, but there’s a ghost tour company that does these things around Halloween. I couldn’t go to it on Halloween because I have evening classes on Tuesdays and Thursdays, so going tonight is the next best thing. If I get any evidence of course I’m going to post that up. If I don’t get any evidence, well…it was something I had to do at least once, right? Like going to see Tommy Wiseau’s The Room in a theatre filled with people who love throwing spoons. It’s something that needs to be done at least once.

Also, recently I watched Tim Burton’s Sleepy Hollow as well as a movie that came out recently called The Conjuring. Here are my thoughts on those movies.

Sleepy Hollow is not a scary movie. I don’t know why some people say it is, it really isn’t. Does that mean it’s bad? Hell no. It’s very entertaining and very Tim Burton. It has this atmosphere about it that’s very dark and grim and…well, if you’ve seen Tim Burton’s version of Sweeney Todd you’ll know what to expect.

I do have to say that it was weird seeing a Tim Burton movie without Helena Bonham Carter, but at least Johnny Depp was in it. To see a Tim Burton movie without Johnny Depp, go watch Beetlejuice, that’s a great movie. Also, on a side note, Christopher Walken in Sleepy Hollow was awesome…even though he didn’t say anything in it. And to see Uncle Vernon from the Harry Potter movies in a movie other than the Harry Potter movies was weird.

But I digress. It was an entertaining and enjoyable feature, but it was not scary.

The Conjuring on the other hand, holy shit. When you think of horror movies in this day and age you think of copious amounts of gore. Just people getting chopped up and directors trying to show off what their CGI teams can do. This was a nice change of pace.

There were several moments in this film where I actually felt scared. Some parts made me jump and I was like, “This is freaky!”

The movie starts out with a close-up of the creepiest doll ever and you know it’s going to be a terrifying movie after that.

My only real gripe with the movie is they shouldn’t have shown us the demons. In my opinion it’s far more effective if you don’t see what’s causing the torment or what’s causing things to move around.

There’s a scene where one of the little girls sees a demon behind an open door and behind her sister. We don’t see it, only she sees it. You know something’s going to happen and you’re terrified because you can’t see what’s coming. Then something happens and it freaks you out. That’s effective. It made me jump.

While I will give them credit that the demons actually looked freaky, it would’ve been more effective if we didn’t see them at all, or at least not until the exorcism scene. It was my main problem with The Haunting in Connecticut. Although in that movie the demons just looked stupid, so at least this one is a step up. And there were a few moments where seeing the demons (or at least their hands, *cough* clap game *cough*) brought on a very effective scare.

All-in-all The Conjuring might actually be one of the best scary movies ever made. It brings back so many old school scares while also mixing in some new scares and is a great mix of horror and suspense.

One last thing, have you seen the new Paranormal Activity trailer? It’s called Paranormal Activity: The Marked Ones. It’s a spin-off of Paranormal Activity 3 and will be coming out in January 2014. It looks stupid. I’m still going to see it, even though 4 was terrible. But also note that it’s not Paranormal Activity 5, that movie will be coming out October 2014.

And now, until next time I will leave you with this ancient Chinese proverb: Get back to your normal; whatever your normal is. I won’t judge. Thanks for reading.

Want to help me out? Please like, comment on and/or share this post. It would really mean a lot to me. Also, if you like my posts, please subscribe to this blog and then you’ll be notified when I post something new.

Leave a Comment

