New Year’s Resolutions

I know it’s been a long time since I’ve posted anything on here, and I know that I haven’t done a very good job at the whole “once a week, every Monday” thing I had promised a while back, but it’s for good reason. December was a hectic month. It was filled with chaos and exams and…then when exams were done it was filled with Game of Thrones. Because, believe it or not, I hadn’t watched or gotten into Game of Thrones before. So I spent most of the second half of December watching all three seasons and now it’s one of my all-time favourite shows. I also bought all five books in a box set on Amazon for 30 bucks and I’ve been reading the first book (which is like reading the show).

So what am I promising for the new year? Nothing. I make no promises. I will write stuff when I feel like it and when I have time and when I have stuff to talk about. I can’t promise that there will be one new post every week, even editorials. I have other things to do since school will be starting up again on the 6th.

Remember that post a long time ago when I talked about a one-act play I was writing? Well, that one-act dark comedy play was a piece of shit. I’m talking like major shit (insert How I Met Your Mother reference here). Well, in any case I completely rewrote it and worked at it like crazy throughout the first term and eventually got an A on it. Then I kept rewriting it. Now I’m going to submit it to the theatre company at my university and hopefully they’ll perform it.

I’m also currently writing another play, this one being a two-act dark comedy play called Dice. It’s about a man who makes all of his decisions by rolling some dice and it leads him to a life of crime. So far all I’ve written for it is the prologue, act one scenes one, two and three and act two scene one (which was the first scene I wrote for it). There will be more than three scenes in act one, I just haven’t worked on it for a while. But I plan to get back to it.

Also, if you’ll recall, I had worked on a novel. It was still in the editing process. Well, it’s still in the editing process. But I’ve gotten other ideas for other novels to write. So I’ve got lots of writing on my mind to do and I don’t know how much time I’ll have to do it. This upcoming term in university I’m going to be taking a creative writing course, so my writing will probably have to be halted for the writing I’ll have to do for this course. But in any case, that’s not what this post is supposed to be about.

New Year’s resolutions. That’s the topic on everybody’s mind. Whether it be that they want to diet or exercise more, to swear less, to drink less, to meet new people…it seems to me that everyone limits themselves to just one resolution. So I’m gonna one up everybody by making a list of every New Year’s resolution I want to achieve.

So here we go:

– I will continue to lift weights three days a week

– I want to write more (which is why I spent most of this post discussing my writing)

– I want to get a girlfriend (and a nice girlfriend at that)

– I want to stop being so hot-tempered (I like to think I have a good sense of humour and I can even take jabs at myself, but for whatever reason [probably because I’m a Leo] I seem to have a bad temper and get angry far too often)

– I want to read more (or at least finish reading A Game of Thrones)

– I want to make new friends

– I want to be more optimistic

– I want to have more confidence

– But what I really, really, really want is a zigazig ha.

So that’s my New Year’s resolutions list. What’s yours? Do you have more than one resolution? Do you even have one resolution? Let me know in the comments. And happy new year to everyone!

Want to help me out? Please like, comment on and/or share this post. It would really mean a lot to me. Also, if you like my posts, please subscribe to this blog and then you’ll be notified when I post something new.

2 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions

Leave a Comment

