Top 10: Favourite Bands That Everyone Should (Hopefully) Know

Top 10’s are back! And by that I mean here’s my second top 10 list. I know it’s been about 4 and a half months since the last one but, as promised, here are my top 10 favourite bands that everyone should have at least heard of.

Before we get to the list just a few honourable mentions (not every list will have this, though):

Aerosmith

AC/DC

Metallica

The All-American Rejects (yes…I know, but I like them)

McFly

The Script (at least their first 2 albums, I didn’t really care for the third one)

Paramore

And now onto the actual list:

10. Red Hot Chili Peppers

What a way to start off a list, ‘eh? (Yes, I just said “‘eh”.) Now you might be wondering why I’m putting this amazing band so low on the list. Truth be told, I’ve only recently been getting into this band. For the longest time I had only heard of them, but never really knew any of their songs. Then I heard “Under the Bridge” on the radio and recognised it and decided to look it up. That’s when I discovered that it was an RHCP song and was like, “Wow, I wonder what other songs they have.” Then I listened to “By the Way”, “Otherside”, “Californication”, “Give It Away” and various others and really started to get into this band. So if you haven’t listened to any of their songs, do yourself a favour and listen to all of them.

9. Foreigner

Foreigner is a pretty rockin’ band whose songs have lived on for quite some time. “Jukebox Hero” was the first song I think I actually heard from them when I knew it was from them. I’m sure I heard “Hot Blooded” first, but I never knew it was a Foreigner song until much later. Then you got other classic hits such as “I Want To Know What Love Is”, “Cold as Ice”, “Urgent” and “Double Vision”, as well as so many others. They’re a great band whose name lives on.

8. Meat Loaf

Fuckin’ Meat Loaf! I love Meat Loaf so much. His songs are always orchestrated and epic and who can deny that he’s an amazing singer? Yes, I know, he never (or at least hardly ever) wrote any of the lyrics himself, but he always wrote the music and he sure as hell can sing. “Two Out Of Three Ain’t Bad”, “Good Girls Go To Heaven (Bad Girls Go Everywhere)”, “Paradise by the Dashboard Light”, “Alive”, “I’d Life For You (And That’s The Truth)“, “I Would Do Anything For Love”, “Objects in the Rear View Mirror (May Appear Closer Than They Are)”. The list goes on and on. If you’ve never listened to Meat Loaf, you seriously have to listen to Meat Loaf.

7. Three Days Grace

When I heard the news that the lead singer of TDG was leaving the band (for health reasons), a part of me died inside. It took me so long to get into this band, but now I love all of their stuff, new and old. I know they’re not for everyone, but I love this band and I love that they’re Canadian.

6. Billy Talent

Speaking of Canadian, here’s another Canadian band that I really like. Originally I was going to put TDG and Billy Talent together in one number, but I’ve since decided to separate them. Their first three albums are really good, but when their fourth one came out, they changed their sound, started being more musical and….fuck I love it! Seriously, if there’s only one album you’re willing to listen to for Billy Talent make it their fourth one: Dead Silence.

5. Elton John

One of my friends told me that she hates Elton John. That makes me very sad. How can anyone hate Elton John? Have you never listened to “Crocodile Rock”, “Goodbye Yellow Brick Road”, “Friends Never Say Goodbye”, “Can You Feel The Love Tonight”, “Tiny Dancer”, “Your Song” or any other countless amazing hits from this wonderful man? I don’t care if he’s gay, he’s one of the greatest musicians out there. He released a new album last year called “The Diving Board” and I bought it the day it came out. Truth be told, it took me a while before I really got into this latest album of his, but now I love it and highly recommend it.

4. Billy Joel

Another Billy. Well, Billy Talent isn’t anyone’s name, whereas Billy Joel is. Holy fuck, I can’t believe it took me until last year to recognise this man’s brilliance. He’s an absolutely amazing singer. Of course I always knew the songs “Piano Man”, “She’s Always a Woman”, “We Didn’t Start The Fire”, “Uptown Girl” and “For The Longest Time” (though I didn’t know that was a Billy Joel song). I also had heard the songs “Don’t Ask Me Why” and “My Life” but didn’t know those were Billy Joel songs until I listened to them while knowing I was listening to Billy Joel. Of course nowadays my favourite song of his is “Tell her About It”. I don’t know why I said “of course” because that’s not exactly something that’s obvious. But go listen to that song, it could save your relationship!

3. Avenged Sevenfold

We’re getting close to the end of the list now. Down to the top three. So here at number three is A7X. After looking at the rest of this list, I bet this comes to everyone as a surprise. What? This guy who likes all of these classic bands from decades ago likes this modern (lol, 90s = modern) metal band? I can’t believe it. Well believe it, readers. I even love this band so much that I had pre-ordered their latest album “Hail to the King”. Now that’s a true fan, right there. I listened to the full album twice on the day it came out. Once while I was doing other things and a second time when I was reading the lyrics while listening to the songs. I even watched their 1-2 minute interview things about each of the songs on their YouTube page. Though I have to say that “Nightmare” is still my favourite album of theirs. So many feels. Every time I listen to “So Far Away” and “Fiction”, I want to cry. RIP Jimmy “The Rev” Sullivan.

2. Queen

Yes, how can I have a list like this and not include one of the greatest bands of all time? Seriously, what other band can give you a song, sung by a very flamboyantly gay guy, about a guy who has sex with fat girls (and even lost his virginity to his fat nanny) and make it sound like a kickass rockin’ song? (In case you’re wondeirng, that’s “Fat Bottomed Girls”.) I dare you to find another band that can do that. It’s a trick because there isn’t one. That’s how awesome Queen (and more specifically Freddie Mercury) is. Not to mention all of the other classic Queen songs, “We Will Rock You/We Are The Champions”, “Bohemian Rhapsody”, “Killer Queen”, “Bicycle Race”, “I’m Going Slightly Mad”, “I Want to Break Free”, “I Want It All”, “Somebody To Love”, “Under Pressure”, “Don’t Stop Me Now”, “Another One Bites The Dust”, and so on. There are so many amazing Queen songs, if you haven’t listened to them, you seriously need to reevaluate your life.

1. The Beatles

Maybe this was too obvious. Was it too obvious? I think it was too obvious. Of course The Beatles are my favourite band. But I’m not just saying that to seem “cool” or whatever, they’ve been my favourite band for quite a long time now. I have over 200 of their songs on my iPod and I’ve more recently been getting into their solo careers now (especially Ringo’s for some reason [listen to “Weight of the World”, “Never Without You” and “Imagine Me There”]). I love everything about The Beatles…except for that “Piggies” song, for some reason I can’t stand that song; I’d rather listen to “I Am The Walrus” or “Come Together”. I’m also not a very big fan of that movie Across The Universe. It was okay, but I’d rather just listen to The Beatles’ songs. So now you’re probably wondering what my favourite Beatles song is. Well, I’ll tell you: It’s “I Will”. Don’t ask me why it’s “I Will”, as I’m not entirely sure, but I absolutely love that song so much and it’s my favourite song of theirs, period. If you don’t listen to the Beatles on a regular basis, you have a very sad life. That is all.

So that’s my list. After 4 and a half months, was it worth the wait? Let me know in the comments below and tell me who your favourite bands are.

Want to help me out? Please like, comment on and/or share this post. It would really mean a lot to me. Also, if you like my posts, please subscribe to this blog and then you’ll be notified when I post something new.

2 thoughts on “Top 10: Favourite Bands That Everyone Should (Hopefully) Know

  1. Hi there! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone 4!
    Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look
    forward to all your posts! Keep up the excellent work!

Leave a Comment

