Dear Diary: Zombie Apocalypse – Entry Two

Dear Diary,

I guess I’m not as crazy as I thought. It was, in fact, on the news last night. “Terrifying man Terrorizes Town” the headline read. Turns out he wasn’t as passive as I thought he was.

The helicopter news team showed footage of him charging after people. Seriously, he was running really fast after some random civilians. People were running away, screaming (as would be expected if a white-eyed, broken man was running after them). I don’t know how he was able to run since he still had a busted leg, but then he jumped on top of a person and knocked them to the ground.

It looked like he started eating the man before the police force showed up and started firing at him. The thing is, though, he barely even flinched when he was being shot at. Bullets were going through his body and he just kept eating this person alive as if those bullets were merely flies buzzing around him…or through him.

It wasn’t until he was shot in the head that he finally collapsed. Well, the first bullet that went through his head made him angry, the second one slowed him down and the third one finally did him in. The reporter said that the man was being taken to the morgue and an autopsy was going to be performed on him to see if they could determine what caused this. The man this undead guy was feasting on didn’t survive. They never said if he became one of these creatures or not and it wasn’t long afterwards that they switched to a different topic. As if this news story is boring and talking about stocks dropping is more interesting.

***

Well, it’s been a few days since I wrote my first entry, and I’m surprised that I haven’t heard anything more about this on the news. They never did get back with the autopsy results and as far as I can tell there haven’t been any other reported sightings of dead people coming back to life. So perhaps this was a one-time thing.

However, more weird shit is happening. I went to see my therapist today as I had an appointment. When I went outside I couldn’t get a single taxi. I even tried phoning the taxi hotline and there was no answer. So I decided to walk there.

The whole town was deserted. There were no pedestrians on the street and not a single car that was driving. All of the cars that I saw were parked along the sides of the road. It was as if the entire town just got up and left and nobody came to tell me we were leaving.

Every so often I would look up at a house window or an apartment window and see someone standing there staring at me. But as soon as they noticed I was looking at them, they closed their blinds. It was a very eerie vibe I was getting. I know that I generally don’t like people, but I never realised that people generally don’t like me.

When I did make it to the therapist’s office, it was closed. Which is odd because they have doctors there round the clock. It’s their motto, “No matter when you have trouble, you can count on us.” So unless the whole “24/7” thing has finally made them go crazy and they decided to quit, this is quite unusual.

I called up Jason at that point to see if he noticed anything weird going on with our town and he said to me, “You haven’t heard?”

“Heard what?”

“Of course you haven’t heard,” he said quietly, “No one’s really heard except for me.” Then more loudly he said, “The whole town is planning on an evacuation.”

“They’re what?”

Remember when I mentioned that he never lied, or else he was the best damn liar I’ve ever met? Well this was a moment where I actually couldn’t tell. Was he playing a practical joke on me? Was this for real? I had no way of knowing.

“Can I come over?” I asked him.

He hesitated. He actually, freaking hesitated. My best friend for so long, and he’s unsure if he wants me to come over. That was great. A real, good friend he is. He did say yes after he hemmed and hawed, so I went to his place.

He had a much nicer apartment than I did. You know how I have a “problem” with social awkwardness or whatever? Well, it turned out that the reason he fidgeted a lot and didn’t really have any friends and the reason I found him so interesting compared to other humans was the fact that he has OCD, or “obsessive-compulsive disorder”. In fact, when I called, he waited for three rings to go through before picking up (as he always did). He felt that if he picked up before three, that would be evil and if he waited after three it would also be evil. The three in this case was for the Trinity: the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit. Oh yeah, he is also very religious.

But going back to his OCD thing, his place was spotless. In fact, he hated coming to my place because it was often a sty compared to his place. He felt safe in his abode, with his crucifixes on the wall and his incense spread throughout his home.

When I walked into his place he was doing some kind of ritual, speaking in Latin and holding a candle which he kept moving in a cross formation.

“What are you doing?” I asked.

As soon as he saw me, he splashed some Holy Water on my face.

“The Devil has risen.” He proclaimed.

“Has he?” I asked. “I didn’t see him.”

“He’s making the dead rise and-”

“You think that’s the work of the Devil?”

“It’s the only explanation. And we must wait for God to save us.”

“Right…” I said, not really buying his religious look on the weird goings-on in this town. “So what was that thing you were saying about the town evacuating? Because they never said anything about that on the news. In fact, after the first incident, they never talked about any other sightings of people rising from the dead.”

“I’ve seen them.” He said, stopping his ritual and staring straight at me with his wide, scared eyes. “I came face to face with the Devil, himself. And you know what I said to him?”

“No,” I said, “what did you say?”

“I said, ‘You’re not taking me today.’ And I ran.”

“Good story,” I said, “can I have the copyright?”

“I’m serious,” he snapped, and went back to chanting in Latin.

“Look,” I said, “regardless of whether or not this is the work of…the Devil. Why are they calling for a town evacuation and why haven’t they reported that on the news? Hell, how do you know about it?”

“I overheard a few police officers talking about. They mentioned something about keeping it hushed until they know for sure and apparently our mayor has told the news team to make it seem like our town is fine. He told them to not report on this anymore.”

“Then why is everyone barricading themselves in their homes? Not a single person on the street and not a single person driving. Even the therapist’s office is closed. And I didn’t come across any undead creatures from my house to the therapist’s office to your house.”

“He’s good…” Jason muttered.

“Who’s good?”

“The Devil.”

“The Devil’s…good? I thought he was evil.”

“He is evil. He’s just good at being evil.”

All of a sudden a loud crash came from outside. Both Jason and I ran to the window to see what had happened and we saw one of those white-eyed creatures had knocked down a street light. From the noise we saw about a dozen or so more of them slowly walking up to the one that had knocked the street light over. They all looked at each other and then spread out into three groups. They seemed to be…somewhat intelligent. I think that made it even scarier.

I looked at Jason with big, pleading eyes and he said, “It’s okay, you can stay the night. I’m not going to make you go back out there. You don’t even drive.”

I thanked him and—

My mom! I totally forgot to call my mom today. Oh jeez, I can’t believe myself. First thing tomorrow I’m going to call her and make sure she’s all right. She may be a pain in the ass sometimes, but she’s still my mom. If the news reports aren’t actually telling everyone that the town is in danger, it’s no wonder she hasn’t called to find out if I’m okay.

I still don’t know why the town is acting strange, if they’re supposed to think that everything’s okay. But it’s night time now and I’m feeling sleepy. So I’m going to stop writing this. Maybe the next time I write there will be more development on these creatures. But one thing’s for sure: they’re dead people who are still able to walk around. They sound like…zombies.

Leave a Comment

