New Year’s Resolutions Part Two: The Revenge

Man, it’s been a while since I last posted on this blog. Which is funny because I started last year’s New Year‘s post pretty much the same way.

I hope everyone had a great Christmas, Chanukah, Kwanzaa, or whatever holiday you celebrate. I know I had an awesome Chanukah. I got movies, books, video games and two really amazing autographed pictures (well one’s technically a poster).

Army Signed
“Army of Darkness” poster signed by Bruce Campbell and Sam Raimi.
Tyrion Signed
Tyrion Lannister picture signed by Peter Dinklage.

I also hope you all had a fun-filled New Year’s Eve. Speaking of New Year’s, let’s talk resolutions.

Last year I gave myself several different resolutions to try to stick with, so let’s find out how well I did.

I will continue to lift weights three days a week

Well right off the bat I’ve got an F–. This one I had continued to do for a little while, but then I ended up getting pretty sick (mostly digestive problems) and that lasted a few months. By now it’s gotten much better but I still haven’t returned to lifting weights. I probably should, but at the same time I’ve been doing a lot of heavy lifting at Walmart (what with carry-outs and the like), so I feel like it’s somewhat compensated. Regardless, I need to build up my muscles.

I want to write more

Aha! One that I’ve actually accomplished. Now you’re probably thinking that I’ve been writing less since I didn’t post anything here in November or December, but I’ve actually been writing a new novel with one of my co-workers/friends. We started writing it together in November and we’re already around 25,000 words. Technically I’ve been doing most of the writing, but he definitely helps when it comes to giving ideas on where the novel should go and how it should progress. We’re hoping to have the book finished before this Halloween since it’s a Halloween-y kind of book.

I want to get a girlfriend

Hmm, this one’s kind of a bummer. I’ve really tried hard this year to accomplish this goal, but it just doesn’t seem to be working for me. I even got to go on a date at some point near the end of summer, but right before we went on the date she told me she wasn’t looking for a relationship (which is kind of odd since I met her on a dating website…). We still went out and it was fine, but there was no second date. Then there’s a long story about this girl who I work with who I had asked out. She said yes, but I guess she thought I meant to hang out as friends, because the very next day she was suddenly listed as in a relationship with some guy from her school. Also, the guy she listed as her boyfriend (who is still her boyfriend) is absolutely insane. He first of all went on to her profile, pretended to be her and told me not to talk to her anymore. Then he found my Instagram account and posted a bunch of “insulting” comments on my pictures. The thing is, she admitted to me that he’s crazy, yet she continues to go out with him for some reason. Anyway, it got to the point where, for my own sake, I couldn’t continue being friends with her because it pained me too much on the inside (because i liked her too much), so I told her that we shouldn’t be friends anymore, and now I think she hates me (which has definitely helped me to get over her). Well, hopefully this year will be better.

I want to stop being so hot-tempered

This one is so-so. I definitely feel like, overall, I didn’t get as angry as I used to get. I’ve definitely managed to keep my cool and be more resilient. Obviously there are always going to be times when I get angry (especially when it comes to stupid customers), but over the course of the year I’m pretty sure I was much calmer and more relaxed.

I want to read more

This one I’ve accomplished, but not as much as I’d like. I finished reading “A Game of Thrones”, so that’s good. I also re-read “Flowers for Algernon” to make sure it was still amazing since I continue calling it my all-time favourite book ever, and thankfully it is. Then when I got all of the books for the “Heroes of Olympus” series, I decided to re-read the Percy Jackson series. I read the first three of them and I’ve been reading “Heart-Shaped Box” by Joe Hill (Stephen King’s son). I was hoping to have that book finished, and the last two Percy Jackson books re-read by this point and possibly “Horns” by Joe Hill, too. But “Heart-Shaped Box” has got me struggling to finish it. The first section of the book was really good, but the second was really boring and the third is okay…but it’s just meh at this point. Then I also got the books “Mogworld”, “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time” and “The Fifth Sally” for Chanukah that I really want to read, as well as “A Clash of Kings” and I do want to finish re-reading the Percy Jackson series so I can read all of “Heroes of Olympus”. Ugh, so much reading i want to do and this stupid “Heart-Shaped Box” book is getting in the way. I have probably less than a hundred pages to go, I just want to finish it.

I want to make new friends

I accomplished this. I lost one as described in the “girlfriend” resolution, but I’ve made others as well. I’ll give this a Check++.

I want to be more optimistic

Uhhh…I don’t know. Next.

I want to have more confidence

I don’t think my confidence level has grown at all. That’s a shame.

And a zigazig ha joke

I still don’t even know what that is.

So those were the goals from last year. Now what are my resolutions for this year?

– Well, I’ll keep the girlfriend one on this list, too and hopefully it’ll happen this year.

– I definitely have a lot of reading to do, hopefully I can get that done.

– Finish the book my friend and I are working on. That’s a definite must.

– It’s time to get a real career and say goodbye to Walmart (though there may be an opportunity to get into Walmart’s home office and work in their advertising department as an editor and if I can do that, then it won’t be saying goodbye to Walmart, it’ll just be goodbye to being a floor associate).

– All-in-all, I just want to have fun. It’s important that we enjoy our time here on Earth, since more often than not, it’s incredibly short. (Unlike this blog post which you wasted a lot of time reading.)

I hope it’ll be a good year. I hope you enjoy your year. Thanks for reading and hopefully I’ll have more blog posts this year. Also, feel free to leave me a comment with your New Year’s resolutions and let me know if you managed to keep yours from last year.

Want to help me out? Please like, comment on and/or share this post. It would really mean a lot to me. Also, if you like my posts, please subscribe to this blog and then you’ll be notified when I post something new.

Leave a Comment

