Top 10 Best Songs from the “Very Potter Musical” Trilogy

Now if you know anything about me you’ll know that I really like the Harry Potter franchise (despite some flaws here and there) and you’ll also know that I’m a theatre guy. So all those years ago when I discovered “A Very Potter Musical” (AVPM) I was blown away. It was hilarious, it was well-acted, the songs were really catchy and all-around it was just a lot of fun. It was clear that it was made by fans of the Harry Potter series, for fans of the Harry Potter series.

Then a little while later they came out with “A Very Potter Sequel” (AVPS) and I didn’t know if it could live up to the original. Thankfully it not only lived up to the original, it exceeded the original in basically every way. Some people have complained about the musical’s run time, clocking in at around 3 and a half hours, but I feel that that let them become even funnier with more fleshed out characters (I mean, their Dolores Umbridge [played by the same guy who played Voldemort in the first one] was absolutely hysterical), it allowed them to make more songs which were possibly even catchier than in the first one and it was just totally awesome.

And then I saw their announcement. Basically it said that they were making the third and final chapter in this trilogy, “A Very Potter 3D: A Very Potter Senior Year” (AVPSY). Then it briefly showed everyone who was going to be in it and when I saw that Darren Criss was returning to play Harry Potter, I knew it was going to be great. (Keep in mind that this was during his time on the awful TV show Glee and he hadn’t been in a Starkid musical since AVPS.) Basically they had very little time to do any kind of rehearsing, so most (if not all) of the characters are still using their scripts, but that doesn’t stop it from being absolutely amazing. Not to mention that they actually got Evanna Lynch (from the movies) to reprise her role as Luna Lovegood.

Anyway, in case you can’t tell, I absolutely love this musical trilogy and picking my top 10 favourite songs from the series is no easy feat. I don’t know why I’m making myself do this anyway, I love all of the songs and I highly recommend everyone check out these musicals if you haven’t done so already (and there might be some minor spoilers in this post). But, without further ado, here are my top 10 “Very Potter Musical” trilogy songs.

10. Get Back to Hogwarts, AVPM

Ah yes, the very first song that started the whole thing off. It was a ten minute mega piece that really set the mood for the rest of the musical. It did a great job introducing each of the characters (especially Malfoy) and it introduced the phrase that I wish had become more popular, “Floo powder power! Floo powder power!” I don’t really know what else to say, it started off the musical and it was great.

9. Gettin’ Along, AVPS

This song is pretty hilarious as it’s a duet sung by Dumbledore and Umbridge. Dumbledore thinks that Umbridge is a man and so is singing to her as if she was a man, and Umbridge thinks that Dumbledore is straight and so is singing to him as if he must get all of the ladies. The interaction between the two of them is so great and it leads to some pretty hilarious dialogue between Dumbledore and Snape.

8. Different As Can Be, AVPM

Another duet, but this time it’s Voldemort and Quirrell singing together about how they’re “quite a kooky couple” because they’re so different from each other. As Voldemort sings to Quirrell, “You like plotting a garden, I like plotting to kill” and Quirrell retorts, “You think that you should rule the world, I think books are a thrill”. Just like the above song, the interaction here between the two singers is great and it’s just a funny, catchy song.

7. Gilderoy, AVPSY

It took until the third musical to finally give us Gilderoy Lockhart and of course his song about himself is just him singing about how great he is while also being a copyright infringer (oh, infringer isn’t a word? It is now!). I mean, he sings “Who walked into Mordor and destroyed the ring?” to which his groupies reply with his name. Actually the whole character of Gilderoy in this musical is so great, not villain material mind you, but pretty awesome. Basically he takes Muggle series like, The Hunger Games, Twilight, etc. and brings them into the wizarding world under his own name to pretend that he wrote them. Now he wants to take the life of Harry Potter and bring it into the Muggle world as its own book series, using Hermione to write the books for him. It’s just evil enough, which is all Gilderoy will ever be, and this song shows us who his character is in the best way possible.

6. Guys Like Potter, AVPS

There’s just something about Lucius and Snape singing about what an asshole James Potter was that makes me laugh. Or maybe it’s the line, “There are so many assholes in this place/Yes, so many assholes in my face” that makes me laugh. Whatever the reason, this song is both funny and heartbreaking as all Snape ever wanted was to love Lily the way she deserved, but he never got the chance.

5. Granger Danger, AVPM

Ah yes, I’m sure that if you’re a fan of these musicals you were hoping this would appear somewhere on this list. This is the point where both Ron and Malfoy realise that they think Hermione is actually pretty hot and, in case you didn’t already know, this was the first song that the Starkid team wrote that made them decide to make a Harry Potter musical. They were reading “Goblet of Fire” and felt that maybe Draco actually had a crush on Hermione which was why he bullied her so much and then they came up with this song and the rest is history. Not to mention that this was the song I decided to sing as my audition for either the grade eleven or grade twelve musical I was in (I can’t remember which one it was).

4. Everything Ends, AVPSY

This song is depressingly realistic about its message but it’s so good and so moving. But damn it’s so sad. I love it, but I hate it. I was going to have it lower on the list because of how sad it is, but how can you not love this song when it’s so good? If you’re feeling pretty down, this is not the right song to listen to as a pick-me-up, but I just think it’s so great.

3. Always Dance, AVPSY

If you remember in the first musical, Voldemort sings about how he loves dancing in a great song that didn’t make this list (I’m sorry). So it was only fitting that in a flashback scene in the third and final musical we would see Voldemort (back when he was Tom Riddle) dancing with Lucius and singing to a present day Ginny through his diary about how she should always dance despite what other people might think. In fact, this is pretty much the opposite of the previous song, it’s a very uplifting and happy song with a great message, “So you see Ginny, when life sucks, just dance. And since life always sucks, always dance.”

2. No Way, AVPS/Voldemort is Going Down, AVPM

Let’s keep the uplifting going with two songs that are fairly similar. They’re both the second act song to show the audience that our heroes aren’t going to give up even though things look pretty bleak. They make your adrenaline rise and they get you pumped up for the epic final showdown! They’re both really good songs which is why they’re both number two.

And now…my all-time favourite song from the trilogy.

1. Sidekick, AVPSY

The solo Ron Weasley song that he sings to a petrified Hermione Granger. I don’t know what it is about this song I love so much, maybe it’s because Ron finally gets his time to shine, maybe it’s because I really like the musical trilogy’s version of Ron, maybe it’s because the song is so kick-ass, or maybe it’s because I feel so kick-ass when I’m able to sing along with the entire song having all of the words memorised off by heart. Whatever the reason is, this song will stick with me more so than any other song from the trilogy. I just feel like it’s a very relatable song, Ron lists everything he’s not and says that what he is, is a guy who will love this girl with all of his heart because that’s what he’s got. It’s perfect in every way and that’s why it’s my number one pick.

So I know I missed quite a few songs, but I could only pick ten (or technically I picked eleven, but whatever). Do you agree with my list? Disagree? What are your favourite songs from this musical trilogy? Let me know in the comments below and don’t forget to share and like this post.

Leave a Comment

