Top 10 Best Songs and Videos from Animusic

Top 10 Best Songs and Videos from Animusic

Animusic  (for those that don’t know) is a company that makes their own original pieces of music and then creates little computer animations to go along with it. They design fascinating looking instruments or have robotic creations playing the instruments. They released two volumes with a third on the way (though it’s been in the works for a couple years now, but Wayne Lytle [the creator of it] posted an update in August explaining why it hasn’t been finished yet).

Anyway, this list is going to have songs and videos from both Animusic 1 and 2. I’ve also embedded each video so you can watch and listen while you read. So now then, onto the list.

 10. Starship Groove

Let’s see…funky electronic beat? Check. Interesting robotic design? Check. Robots wearing sunglasses? Check. Looks like this one’s on my top 10 list. But I’m placing it at number ten because it’s not really one that I come back to very frequently. It’s fun to watch and listen to every once in a while, but certainly not their best.

9. Cathedral Pictures

This one is pretty low on the list because you’re either going to love it or hate it………..or think that it’s simply okay. Maybe you love cathedral music, maybe you don’t. Maybe you’ll divorce at 40, maybe you’ll dance the funky chicken at your 75th wedding anniversary. *Ahem* Sorry about that, my Baz Luhrmann was showing. Anyway, where was I? Oh yeah, Animusic. So this song is all right, the video is all right, that ending is beast. Let’s move on.

8. Resonant Chamber

I do enjoy the acoustic sounds of Resonant Chamber. Animusic is really good at doing fun acoustic pieces of music. It’s also an interesting designed contraption they made for the video. But overall they do have better acoustic pieces than this one, in my opinion at least.

7. Fibre Bundles

This one is on here for pure creativity in the video. The music in this one I find to be fairly so-so, but damn it all if the video isn’t remarkable in its sheer creativity. If you’re just listening to the songs without watching the videos, you’re not even really getting half of the experience and this song really shows you why that is. You need to watch the video to get the full enjoyment out of this one.

6. Pipe Dream

This was the very first song and video from Animusic that I ever saw. I believe it was at a Best Buy and they had this playing on one of their display TVs. I must’ve been about twelve or thirteen when I saw this, so it was just around the right time for when I was really into animation. This video really fascinated me and I saw the big Animusic logo in the bottom corner and remembered it to look it up when I got home later and boy was I in for a treat when I discovered more songs and more videos. I also prefer this one over volume 2’s “Pipe Dream 2“. In this one each of the instruments has an introduction and it feels like a natural progression. In the sequel all the instruments have already been introduced so they all start around the same time and it just feels more like chaos than a nice piece of music. I don’t know, maybe I’m just crazy.

5. Heavy Light

This is one of the longest, if not the longest songs/videos from Animusic. But it’s so good. And I love the Egyptian/Pyramid theme the video goes with. It’s so random, but feels like it works so beautifully somehow. Plus I just love the song, even without the video. I don’t know what it is about it that I like so much, but it just feels like something a power metal band would play and that’s pretty awesome in my opinion.

4. Harmonic Voltage

This is another really great, interesting video. While the video is good, it’s really the song in this one that stands out for me. I just can’t help but love the beat, the rhythm, just the music as a whole. It just feels so right and complete. Especially that drum beat, I absolutely love that drum beat. If that wasn’t in this song, this probably would’ve been much lower on my list. It really makes the song stand out that much more for some reason. Just listen to it and you’ll see what I mean. Or you won’t, I don’t know. Maybe you don’t give a shit about drums. But everybody’s free to wear sunscreen. *Ahem* Damn it, again. Down to the top three.

3. Future Retro

If you can listen to this song and not feel awesome, I don’t even know what to say to you anymore. This song just makes me, and should make everyone, feel awesome. It’s got a great classic rock feel to it, like an 80’s rock-pop hit kind of vibe. Plus the video is too great to pass up. I love the robotic-ness to it and the extra-fingered robot hand on the guitar with the two-fingered robot hand on the bass guitar. The designs are genius, the video is fun, the song is catchy. What more could you ask for?

2. Acoustic Curves

It was a toss up between this one and Future Retro for the third and second spots. But ultimately I chose this order because I’m pretty sure I’ve listened to Acoustic Curves more than Future Retro. And like I said in my blurb on Resonant Chamber, there are better acoustic pieces. This is one of them. I absolutely love this song. The video isn’t super creative but it’s still fun to watch. But damn, this is one of the catchiest Animusic songs I’ve ever listened to. It’s always in my head and in my opinion there’s only one song catchier than it.

1. Aqua Harp

Now if you listen to this song or watch the video or both, you’re going to think I’m insane. How could he put this slow song with barely any instrument variations and a not-so-interesting video in his number one spot? It’s slow with little variation after all! Even the video isn’t that interesting.

Well I have one thing to say to you…

I really love the harp. That’s it. The harp is one of the most beautiful sounding instruments ever and if you don’t agree then maybe you should get yourself checked. Why do angels always seem to be playing the harp? Because it’s heavenly, that’s why. And this piece is nothing less than beautiful. I love it and it’s my favourite Animusic song, even if the video isn’t all that creative. Even if there are only four instruments that seem to be played. Even if the song starts slow, ends slow and is fairly slow in the middle too. Aqua Harp is just an amazingly beautiful song to listen to with or without the video and I love it when it gets stuck in my head. And that’s why it’s my number one pick.

What’s your favourite Animusic song and video? Let me know in the comments below. Have another idea for a top ten list you think I should make? Also comment that below. Don’t forget to click that like button and share this with your friends. You can also subscribe to my blog to stay up-to-date on when I post a new article.

8 thoughts on “Top 10 Best Songs and Videos from Animusic

  1. This is my top 15.

    15. Heavy light. Boring and forgettable.

    14. Pogo sticks. The music is god-awful, (Too repetitive) but the animation is pretty cool.

    13. Cathedral pictures. the random marimba solo thingies ruin it.

    12. Future retro. a long way up from the other 3, but just OK.

    11. Fiber bundles. Really cool concept, but the music isn’t too good.

    10. Pipe dream 2. the first one is superior in every way.

    9. Gyro drums. probably the coolest one, but there’s no melody or rhythm to catch on to.

    8. Stick figures. catchy and iconic, but too much string. (I’m a percussion guy.)

    7. Acoustic curves. a bad start keeps it from being as good as i thought.

    6. Pipe dream. overrated, but the part where the vibraphone is battling the xylophone in a music-off sort of thing is awesome.

    5. Harmonic voltage. the middle part with the green laser got it up to this spot.

    4. Starship Groove. The guys in the middle are so cool to look at. screw the belly punchers.

    3. Aqua harp. probably the catchiest song i’ve ever heard. some people just skip over it because it’s “Slow”

    2. Resonant chamber. probably the only truly good song in animusic volume 2, this song is catchy, has awesome animation, and avoids stupid violins. violins suck.

    1. Drum Machine. How can you people not like this? IT’S AWESOME! maybe i’m biasing percussion.

    1. Do you think I’m that lonely and desperate that I would post comments on my own blog post pretending to be someone else? I have a little more pride and dignity than that, thank you very much.

  2. Here is a list of my top 15 pieces from Animusic 1 and 2:

    15: Gyro Drums
    14: Heavy Light
    13: Resonant Chamber
    12: Pogo Sticks
    11: Drum Machine
    10: Cathedral Pictures
    9: Pipe Dream 2
    8: Harmonic Voltage
    7: Acoustic Curves
    6: Fiber Bundles
    5: Pipe Dream
    4: Starship Groove
    3: Future Retro
    2: Stick Figures
    1: Aqua Harp

    1. That’s a pretty good list too. I don’t know why, but Stick Figures never did much for me. But thanks for the comment and I’m glad you liked my post.

  3. Aqua Harp is my favorite too for the exact same reasons! But personally, #2 on my list is “Stick Figures” because it’s the symbol of animusic. It’s on the front cover, for god’s sake! Stick Figures is one of those pieces you show your friend after you learn that they never heard of Animusic. That is why Stick figures is #2.

Leave a Comment

